Showing posts with label snack. Show all posts
Showing posts with label snack. Show all posts

Monday, March 26, 2012

snack time

Every weekend I go grocery shopping, prepare a menu for the week and prepare my lunches for the week. I typically take enough food with me on Monday to last me the entire week. If I prepared my lunch every night or morning during the week I would be really tempted to just eat out everyday. So preparing it over the weekend and having enough for the whole week keeps me from spending extra by eating out.
 
Besides lunch food I have to take some snacks with me to get me through the day. I love snacking :) but who doesn't? I get bored of the same snacks so I have to get creative. This week, two of my snacks came from Pinterest and I've been loving both. Here's a list of some suggestions for snacks...
at least snacks that I like :)

You can click on the link above for a recipe...I just used my favorite vanilla yogurt and dipped my blueberries in it with a toothpick then froze them on wax paper. I used a nonfat yogurt which I think made them a little more icy when they froze rather than creamy. I quite enjoy them!

This is a healthier version of ranch dressing. You use cottage cheese instead of mayo, less milk and less ranch dressing mix. I like it a lot! You have to blend it really well so the texture is smooth. But I highly recommend this with some veggies.

Other favorite snacks:
 
apples with peanut butter
apples with yogurt
cucumbers with lite Italian dressing
homemade granola bars
yogurt with granola or kashi go lean crunch



Sunday, July 31, 2011

Pero + Milk

My newest favorite drink doesn't have a real name. I've called it cold Pero, milky Pero, iced Pero... Whatever you want to call it, it is delicious! I don't drink coffee but I've tasted it before, and I never really liked it.  My SIL used to drink it and introduced me to her alternative now that she doesn't drink it anymore.

Pero is a 'coffee substitute' that is most commonly made hot. It's instant powder that just has to be added to a liquid. I love that it's made out of chicory, rye and other natural things- but none of them have to do with actual coffee.

The other day I was at my SIL's house and she made me this drink. I fell in love! Perfect for a hot day. Also, a good alternative to chocolate milk.

Here's how I make it:

Fill a tall glass with cold milk. Add 1 or 2 teaspoons of Pero and mix. Add 1 teaspoon of brown sugar and mix. Top off with some ice. Enjoy!

Sunday, February 13, 2011

Chocolate banana blueberry smoothie


I get on smoothie kicks every so often and I'm always looking for something new to try. A friend had mentioned how good dark chocolate almond milk is, so I decided to pick up a carton and I'm so glad I did! I love chocolate and any way to get it into a smoothie is ok with me! Here's what I put in it:



Frozen blueberries
a banana
a big glug of dark chocolate almond milk
sometimes I put some normal milk in it too, if i want it to be thinner

It makes a great breakfast or snack and really fills you up.